Opinion Pieces

Oct 4, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: Investors Business Daily, by Congressman Peter Roskam

Excerpt: An important first step — with broad support from America's business community — would be to remove uncertainty and make permanent the 15% rate on capital gains and dividends.

Faced with the threat of a dramatic tax increase in 2013, American businesses, investors and families are hamstrung by uncertainty when making consequential investment and financial decisions.

Sep 30, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: The Daily Caller, By Congressman Peter Roskam

Excerpt: ...the Administration refused to act for months – as Palestinians built UN support – finally pledging a "no" vote in September long after the die was cast. In fact, when the Security Council had their final open meeting prior to the UDI this past July, US Ambassador to the UN Susan Rice reportedly did not even attend. While the summation of this failure is embarrassing for America, it's far more disappointing and consequential for our strong ally Israel. Our allies should not have to be saddled with the residual failures of America leading from behind.

Aug 31, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: Chicago Sun-Times, by Congressman Peter Roskam

Excerpt: Appropriate and responsible regulations play an important policymaking role. Yet the Obama administration has turned rule-making into an assault on American businesses and the jobs they create. Right now, 4,257 new regulations are in the works, 219 of which will cost over $100 million annually — 15 percent more than last year.

Jul 14, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: The Hill, by Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy and Congressman Roskam

Excerpt: A constitutional mandate would legally bind both the president and Congress to produce annual budgets that spend no more than the government takes in. It would end the explosive annual deficits that have ballooned to record levels. Last year alone, under President Obama and the Democrat-controlled Congress, our annual deficit was $1.4 trillion, and we’re paying billions in interest on the borrowing for the failed $800 billion “stimulus” bill from the year before. These figures are unconscionable, and only the legal force of a constitutional amendment requiring a balanced budget will guarantee a change in our fiscal course.

Jul 1, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed, by Congressman Roskam

Excerpt: Oil is a vital resource for the U.S., and affects everything from the cost of our vacation travel to the price of food for our barbeques.  In fact, oil fulfills nearly 40% of total U.S. energy demands, including 94% of the energy used in the transportation of people and goods.  No matter what your plans are this holiday weekend, you’re being negatively impacted by the energy barriers created in Washington.

Jun 21, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed, by Congressman Roskam

Excerpt: We need a comprehensive fundamental tax reform overhaul — one that produces a system that raises the necessary revenue for the government to run as efficiently as possible, while removing barriers to private-sector job creation. More specifically, we need a revenue code that is fairer, simpler and no longer hinders our economic competitiveness — all of which cost jobs.

A fairer and simpler tax code would reduce costs for American citizens and job creators. Right now, the tax code often forces employers to make investment decisions based on the tax code, not by what is best for their business.

May 18, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: Politico, by Majority Leader Eric Cantor and Congressman Roskam

Excerpt: In a dangerous region, Israel is a democratic ally bound to us by a shared set of beliefs in freedom, peace and human progress. Serving on the front lines of the struggle against terrorism and Iranian-backed aggression, Israel is our vital strategic asset that provides stability to a volatile neighborhood.

The Hamas-Fatah reconciliation agreement empowers Hamas terrorists and endangers Israel. The U.S. must use every tool in our diplomatic arsenal to make clear that we will not tolerate a Palestinian government that includes Hamas.

It is our duty, as leader of the free world, to do no less.

May 10, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: Publius' Forum, by Congressman Roskam

 Excerpt: Taking advantage of America's natural resources is a commonsense way to lower gas prices, reduce our dependence on foreign oil, and create jobs here. Unfortunately, many refuse to listen to commonsense.

 By actively blocking and delaying American energy production, the White House's energy policy has caused gas prices to spike, jobs to be lost, and made the U.S. more reliant on unstable foreign energy.

Mar 31, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed: The Daily Caller, by Congressman Peter Roskam

Excerpt: What's happened here is that decades of reckless government spending has forced places like New Jersey and Illinois to increase taxes time and time again. The path to economic recovery, debt reduction, and job creation is not through tax increases, however, but through cutting spending and reforming our onerous tax code — the single greatest thing we can do to give job-creators more confidence in their futures.

Our current tax code punishes American companies for success time and again. Rather than enticing our companies to stay, it actually encourages them to head elsewhere for a more friendly business environment. And rather than create a better business environment, Illinois chose to double down on those failures, and our citizens will pay the price.

Mar 15, 2011 Opinion Piece

Op-Ed, by Congressman Roskam

Excerpt: I look forward to a robust conversation hearing from job creators about what Washington needs to do – and should stop doing – to create an environment where private sector jobs can be created.

Job creators have been clear about what's working and what's not. Preventing the massive tax increases last December was a crucial first step to restoring certainty to the marketplace. Yet that is only one piece, and many barriers to job creation remain. Job creators want us to continue to stop the spending and debt binge Washington has been hooked on. Republicans have made a bold first step – cutting $100 billion from the President's budget request – to begin to live within our means and stop spending money we don't have.

Pages